Rhinegold Publishing

British Composer Awards announced

9:45, 12th February 2015
The British Association of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (Basca) hosted the British Composer Awards at the 17th-century Stationers’ Hall in the City of London this evening.

The event was compered by Radio 3’s Sara Mohr-Pietsch and Andrew MacGregor, and the awards were presented by Michael Berkeley. Mr Berkeley spoke briefly, voicing his concern about the dearth of commissioning bodies, even before the current raft of cuts.
Sarah Rodgers, chairman of Basca and chair of the British Composer Awards, said: ‘The British Composer Awards juries are consistently looking for contemporary classical music which shows flair, originality and power of communication. The outcome of their deliberations is never predictable and this year’s results give accolades to a wonderfully wide sweep of British and international talent.’
The winners are:

Instrumental Solo or Duo
William Sweeney – Sonata for Cello & Piano
Anthony Payne – String Quartet No. 2
Huw Watkins – Five Larkin Songs
Michael Zev Gordon – Allele
Wind Band or Brass Band
Lucy Pankhurst – In Pitch Black
Julian Anderson – Fantasias
Stage Works
Orlando Gough – A Ring A Lamp A Thing
Julian Anderson – Bell Mass
Contemporary Jazz Composition
Tommy Evans – The Green Seagull
Community or Educational Project
John Barber – Consider the Lilies
Making Music Award
Richard Bullen – I can’t find brumm…
International Award
Bent Sørensen – La Mattina
Graham Fitkin – PK
The British Composer Awards are sponsored by PRS for Music and presented in association with BBC Radio 3.
The ceremony will be broadcast on Radio 3 in Sunday Concert on December 4 from 2pm.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products