The London Symphony Orchestra has announced the six individuals selected for its Panufnik Composers Scheme 2018.

Led by Colin Matthews, and with other mentors offering tailored support, the scheme enables composers to experiment over time and develop their orchestral writing skills. Collaborative musical relationships develop with LSO players, and the resulting compositions are performed and discussed by the LSO and its principal guest conductor François-Xavier Roth in a public workshop rehearsal.

They are:

  • Joel Järventausta, a Finnish composer currently studying for a masters in composition with Dai Fujikura at the Royal College of Music as a Charles Stewart Richardson Scholar supported by Joseph Clover Scholarship. Recent achievements include being a finalist in Royal Northern Sinfonia’s ‘New Year, New Music’ competition and winning the RCM Concerto Competition.
  • Cassie Kinoshi, a composer and alto saxophonist known for her work with jazz septet Nerija, Afrobeat band Kokoroko, and her own large ensemble, Seed. She has also written for short film, and recent ventures include working as the sole composer for the Old Vic Theatre’s professional development programme (Old Vic 12) 2016/17. Kinoshi has just completed recording her debut album with Seed Ensemble, due for release in April 2018 on Jazz Re:Freshed.
  • Lara Poe, a Finnish-American composer who is currently studying with Kenneth Hesketh at the Royal College of Music as an RCM scholar. She has received recognition in several competitions, including the BMI Student Composer Award William Schuman Prize in 2017 and the first prize of the 2016 American Prize in Chamber Music composition, student division. This past summer, Poe was a participant in the 2017 Britten-Pears Young Artist Programme, and her piece Mirror Rim will be performed at the 2018 Aldeburgh Festival.
  • Ido Romano, a composer from Jerusalem, Israel. Notable works include Elevations (2017) for chamber orchestra and Detour (2016) for chamber ensemble, which won First Place in the Mark Kopytman Composition Contest. His musical language is influenced by Western classical music, electronic, jazz, folk traditions and Turkish classical music, in which he specializes and performs. He is currently a masters student at the Jerusalem Academy of Music.
  • George Stevenson, a Scottish composer based in London. Recent works have been for musicians of the Russian National Orchestra, Psappha Ensemble, Assembly Project, Solovey Ensemble, Brodick Quartet, Pentaèdre and Duo Palladium. He was awarded First Prize in the St Magnus Composers’ Competition as well as receiving the Dvořák Prize at the International Dvořák Competition. He also won Creative Scotland’s ‘The Night With…’ Call for Scores, the Montréal Concert Society Prize and the Renée B. Fisher Composers’ Award.
  • Alex Tay, who has studied composition with Robin Holloway, Richard Causton, Christian Mason and Jeremy Thurlow, and had works performed in venues such as West Road Concert Hall, Kings College Chapel and the Royal Albert Hall.He was  Cambridge University Music Society joint composer-in-residence in 2014,and he won the Britten Sinfonia’s Cambridge Composition Workshop in 2015. Tay is in his second year of a composition PhD and has been studying with Professor Julian Anderson at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.
Two composers from the year will be commissioned to write an additional ten-minute or five-minute piece, to be played by the LSO in a main-stage concert at the Barbican. LSO Discovery sometimes offers additional commissions for other programme strands, including the Community