Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Samy Moussa wins 2017 Hindemith Prize

4:22, 10th February 2017

The 2017 Hindemith Prize has been awarded to Canadian conductor and composer Samy Moussa. Endowed with €20,000 (£17,000), it will be presented at a concert on 17 July.

Born in Montreal in 1984, Moussa has studied with José Evangelista, Paolo Bellomia, Magnus Lindberg, Kaija Saariaho, Matthias Pintscher and Pascal Dusapin. His compositions include two operas and 13 orchestral works, five of which were commissioned by Kent Nagano for the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

He was awarded the Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis 2012 for his work as conductor with the INDEX Ensemble and won the Composers’ Prize 2013 from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

Now based in Paris and Berlin, his music is published by Durand (Universal Music Publishing Classical).

Awarded annually by Germany’s Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the prize recognises outstanding contemporary composers. Previous recipients include Olga Neuwirth (1999), Matthias Pintscher (2000), Thomas Adès (2001), Lera Auerbach (2005) and Dai Fujikura (2007).

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products