Gramophone has announced the top three recordings in the ten main categories of its annual Gramophone Classical Music Awards, presented this year with Apple Music, the Adam Mickiewicz Institute and Medici TV.


This year’s shortlist is as follows:


Chamber (sponsored by Kings Place)

Britten. Purcell String Quartets Doric Quartet (Chandos)

Debussy Trois Sonates Isabelle Faust; Antoine Tamestit; Jean-Guihen Queyras; Alexander Melnikov; Javier Perianas et al (Harmonia Mundi)

Franck. Vierne Violin Sonatas Alina Ibragimova; Cédric Tiberghien (Hyperion)



Buxtehude Abendmusiken Vox Luminis / Lionel Meunier; Ensemble Masques / Olivier Fortin (Alpha)

Monteverdi Vespers Collegium Vocale Gent / Philippe Herreweghe (PHI)

‘A Rose Magnificat’ Gabrieli Consort / Paul McCreesh (Signum) L



Adams Violin Concerto Leila Josefowicz; St Louis SO / David Robertson (Nonesuch)

Busoni Piano Concerto Kirill Gerstein; Boston SO / Sakari Oramo (Myrios)

Saint-Saëns Piano Concertos Nos 2 & 5 Bertrand Chamayou; Orchestre national de France / Emmanuel Krivine (Erato)


Contemporary (sponsored by PPL & PRS for Music)

Adès The Exterminating Angel Soloists; Met Opera / Thomas Adès (Erato)

Anderson Heaven is Shy of Earth etc Susan Bickley; London Sinfonietta; BBC SO and Chorus / Oliver Knussen (Ondine)

Dean Hamlet Soloists; Glyndebourne Chorus; LPO / Vladimir Jurowski (Opus Arte)


Early Music

Cardoso Requiem Cupertinos / Luís Toscano (Hyperion)

Dufay ‘Lament for Constantinople and other songs’ Orlando Consort (Hyperion)

‘Melancholia’ Madrigals and motets around 1600 Les Cris de Paris (Harmonia Mundi)



Bach Sonatas and Partitas for violin Giuliano Carmignola (DG)

‘The Berlin Recital’ Yuja Wang (DG)

‘Life’ Igor Levit (Sony Classical)


Opera (sponsored by E Gutzwiller et Cie, Private Bankers)

Adams Doctor Atomic Soloists; BBC SO / John Adams (Nonesuch)

Halévy La Reine de Chypre Soloists; Orchestre de chambre de Paris / Hervé Niquet (Bru Zane)

Rossini Semiramide Soloists; OAE / Sir Mark Elder (Opera Rara)



Bernstein Symphonies etc Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia / Sir Antonio Pappano (Warner Classics)

Langgaard Symphonies Nos 2 & 6 VPO / Sakari Oramo (Dacapo)

Stenhammar Symphony No 2. Serenade Gothenburg SO / Herbert Blomstedt (BIS)O R C H E S T R A L



Cavalli Opera Arias Philippe Jaroussky; Ensemble Artaserse (Erato)

Offenbach ‘Colorature’ Jodie Devos; Munich RO / Laurent Campellone (Alpha)

‘Miroir(s)’ Elsa Dreisig; Orchestre national Montpellier Occitanie / Michael Schønwandt (Erato)R E C I T A L


Solo Vocal (sponsored by Mrs Joan Jones)

Debussy Mélodies Sophie Karthäuser; Stéphane Degout; Eugene Asti; Alain Planès (Harmonia Mundi)

Schumann ‘Frage’ Christian Gerhaher; Gerold Huber (Sony Classical)

‘Perpetual Night’ Lucile Richardot; Ensemble Correspondances / Sébastien Daucé (Harmonia Mundi)


Gramophone editor-in-chief James Jolly said: ‘The shortlist this year reflects the great wealth of music that has been produced in the past year. These 30 recordings represent some of the most outstanding releases from the last 12 months, a list characterised by remarkable range and diversity, and I’m thrilled to be sharing these worthy contenders with the industry.’

Full coverage of the shortlist can be found in Gramophone’s October issue and digital magazine. The category winners will be announced on October 1, and one of these will go on to win Recording of the Year at the ceremony on October 16, held at The De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in London.

Other awards announced at the ceremony include Artist of the Year (sponsored by Classic FM), Young Artist of the Year (in partnership with Nordoff Robbins), Lifetime Achievement, Label of the Year, publicly-voted Orchestra of the Year (sponsored by Apple Music), and new for 2019, Concept Album of the Year (sponsored by Classical:NEXT).

#GramoAwards @GramophoneMag