Rhinegold Lifetime Achievement Award winner Krystyna Budzynska

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Winners of the 2017 Music Teacher Awards for Excellence announced

6:00, 10th February 2017

The 2017 Music Teacher Awards for Excellence were presented by Classic FM’s Margherita Taylor last night at the Sheraton Grand London Park Lane Hotel, following the first day of the Music and Drama Education Expo.

Created to celebrate excellence in music and performing arts education, the awards were presented across 13 categories, recognising new products and resources, as well as hubs, music departments and individual contributions to the sector.

‘This year’s awards showcase a vast range of work, from an inspirational pack of cards to an entire primary music curriculum, and along the way they recognise many brilliant teachers and educators,’ said Alex Stevens, editor of Music Teacher magazine and chair of the awards judging panel. ‘We are honoured to be able to celebrate the day-to-day endeavour and commitment of the UK’s music teachers, and proud to draw attention to the life-enhancing joys of learning music.’

The winners are:

Best Musical Initiative, sponsored by the Royal Marines Band Service
Winner: National Youth Jazz Collective

Best Print Resource, sponsored by Rhinegold Publishing
Winner: Get on Board: Music Curriculum for Bristol (Bristol Plays Music)

Best Digital/Technological Resource, sponsored by Allianz Musical Insurance
Winner: Rhinegold Education Online Music Classroom

Best SEND Resource, sponsored by the Schools Printed Music Licence
Winner: Anyone Can Play (Charanga Musical School)

Best Music Education Product, sponsored by Onestage Specialist Concert Tours
Winner: Simultaneous Learning Practice Starters by Paul Harris (Faber Music)

Best Musical Theatre Education Resource, sponsored by the Schools Printed Music Licence
Winner: ‘Junior’ and ‘School’ editions (Josef Weinberger/Music Theatre International)

Excellence in Primary/Early Years Music, sponsored by Rocksteady Music School
Winner: Tune Into Listening
Special mention: Anna Rusbatch, Downs Junior School

Best School Music Department, sponsored by the MMA
Winner: Ripley St Thomas CE Academy

Musicians’ Union Inspiration Award, sponsored by the Musicians’ Union
Winner: Donal McCrisken (The Belfast Opera)

Best Classical Music Education Initiative, sponsored by Classic FM
Winner: Jackdaws: The Year of… (Jackdaws Music Education Trust)

Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by the Incorporated Society of Musicians
Winner: Krystyna Budzynska

Music Education Council Major Award, sponsored by the Music Education Council
Joint winners: Bristol Plays Music & Portsmouth Music Hub

Music Teacher Magazine Editor’s Award, sponsored by elenacobb.com
Winner: Kathryn Deane


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products