Rhinegold Photo credit: Matthew Walder
VIP Studio Sessions (Charanga), winners of the award for best digital/technological resource

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Winners of 2018 Music Teacher Awards for Excellence announced

8:00, 23rd February 2018

The winners of the 2018 Music Teacher Awards for Excellence have been revealed.

The awards were presented on 22 February by Classic FM’s Anne-Marie Minhall at the Sheraton Grand London Park Lane Hotel, Mayfair.

Alex Stevens, editor of Music Teacher magazine and chair of the awards judging panel, said: ‘Year by year, brilliant teachers and educators work tirelessly to bring the life-enhancing opportunity of learning music to children, young people and adults in all walks of life. Music education may find itself under pressure, but it is reassuring to see that the sector is still coming up with inspiring ideas, useful initiatives and, of course, fantastic teaching.’

The judging panel also included Diane Widdison of the Musicians’ Union; Don Gilthorpe, director of music at 2017 award winner Ripley St Thomas CE Academy; Matt Yeoman, performing arts and drama teacher at Queen’s Park High School, Chester; Onur Orkut, lecturer in acting at the Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts; and Sarah Lambie, editor of Teaching Drama magazine.

The winners are:

Best Classical Music Education Initiative, sponsored by Classic FM
‘Wassail! Carols of Comfort and Joy’ (Alexander L’Estrange & United Learning)

Best Digital/Technological Resource, sponsored by Rhinegold Publishing

VIP Studio Sessions (Charanga)

Best Music Education Product, sponsored by Allianz Musical Insurance

Being a Head of Music: a survival guide (by Patrick Gazard, Jane Werry & David Ashworth)

Best Musical Initiative, sponsored by the Royal Marines Band Service

Infinity Orchestra (Surrey Music Hub)

Best Musical Theatre Education Resource, sponsored by Schools Printed Music Licence

Matilda School Resources

Best Print Resource, sponsored by Schools Printed Music Licence

The Intermediate Pianist (by Heather Hammond & Karen Marshall, published by Faber Music)

Best School Music Department, sponsored by the MMA

The Premier Academy, Milton Keynes

Best SEND Resource

The Short Guide to Accessible Music Education (compiled by Emma Lines, Drake Music Scotland and Jonathan Westrup, Drake Music, with the support of the Music Education Council ASN/SEND Working Group)

Excellence in Primary/Early Years Music

Singing Schools (The Voices Foundation & David Ross Education Trust)

Musicians’ Union Inspiration Award, sponsored by the Musicians’ Union

Jo White, a community musician who increases the reach of music in healthcare through Rhythmix’s Wishing Well project

Music Education Council Major Award, sponsored by the Music Education Council

Birmingham Music Education Partnership

Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by the Incorporated Society of Musicians

David Vinden (Kodály Centre of London, Purcell School)

Music Teacher Magazine Editor’s Award, sponsored by elenacobb.com

Sing Up

The Music Teacher Awards for Excellence are organised by Rhinegold Media & Events Ltd in conjunction with Music & Drama Education Expo, and supported by Music Teacher magazine


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products