Rhinegold Photo credit: © Merri Cyr

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Nadine Sierra wins 2017 Richard Tucker Award

2:27, 18th April 2017

Soprano Nadine Sierra has been named as the winner of the Richard Tucker Music Foundation’s Richard Tucker Award 2017.

The $50,000 (£39,300) prize is presented annually to an American singer on the threshold of a major international career. Past winners includes Renée Fleming, Lawrence Brownlee, Matthew Polenzani, Christine Goerke and Joyce DiDonato.

Previously a recipient of a 2010 Sara Tucker Study Grant and a 2013 Richard Tucker Career Grant, Sierra has performed at the Metropolitan Opera, La Scala, Paris Opera, Berlin Staatsoper, and Zürich Opera. She has also appeared as soloist with a number of leading orchestras, and has given recitals at venues including Carnegie Hall and the US Supreme Court.

She recently signed an exclusive recording contract jointly with Deutsche Grammophon and Decca Gold, Universal Music Classic’s new US label. In 2017/18, she will make her Royal Opera House debut as Musetta in a new production of La bohème.

Sierra made her professional debut with Palm Beach Opera as a teenager. After graduating from New York’s Mannes College of Music, she became an Adler fellow at San Francisco Opera. She is the youngest singer to win both the Marilyn Horne Foundation Vocal Competition and the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions.

‘We are elated to have Nadine as our 2017 Richard Tucker Award winner,’ said Barry Tucker, president of the Richard Tucker Music Foundation. ‘Having known her since she was an undergraduate in college and been in awe of her talents even back then, I could not be more impressed by how she has developed as a singer. She possesses an artistic maturity that is well beyond her years and is destined to be a leading light of the opera world.’

The Foundation also named the winners of its 2017 Richard Tucker Career Grants (worth $10,000 each) as bass-baritone Nicholas Brownlee and baritones John Chest and Anthony Clark Evans, and awarded its 2017 Sara Tucker Study Grants ($5,000 each) to countertenor Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen, tenor Alexander McKissick, bass-baritone Christian Pursell, bass-baritone Cody Quattlebaum, mezzo-soprano Taylor Raven, tenor Jack Swanson, and soprano Vanessa Vasquez.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products