Rhinegold Photo credit: Patrick Allen
Vocal consort The Gesualdo Six

Josephine Miles

Gesualdo Six presents online chamber festival

4:41, 21st October 2020

London Sound Gallery, a chamber music festival curated by The Gesualdo Six to celebrate some of the UK’s finest young musicians, launches online this Sunday 25 October.

The festival comprises six performances given by Fieri Consort, Helen Charlston, Ensemble Augelletti, Matilda Lloyd, The Hermes Experiment and The Gesualdo Six. Performances were filmed live at the Grosvenor Chapel in Mayfair, London, in front of a small audience.

Themes of the inaugural festival include reconnection, new beginnings and reconciliation. As such, The Gesualdo Six collaborates with each artist as part of their programme.

The festival was designed to raise money for artists, helping to recover some of their Covid-19 losses and provide a focal point for new programming and performance.

The London Sound Gallery online series will be broadcast in 4K on Sundays at 5pm from 25 October to 29 November. Ticket holders will be able to watch live and/or on demand from the date of broadcast until 1 January 2021.


Fieri Consort: Another Dawn
Sunday 25 October, 5pm
Music by Monteverdi, Luca Marenzio, Thorkell Sigurbjornsson and Ben Rowarth

Helen Charlston (mezzo-soprano) and Toby Carr (theorbo): Abbandonata
Sunday 1 November, 5pm
Music by Purcell, Monteverdi, Alessandro Piccinini, Barbara Strozzi and Owain Park

The Hermes Experiment: I am happy living simply
Sunday 8 November, 5pm
Music by Emily Hall, Errollyn Wallen, Alex Mills, Anna Meredith, Peter Maxwell Davies, Anna Disley-Simpson and Jacob Fitzgerald

Ensemble Augelletti: New beginnings
Sunday 15 November, 5pm
Music by Handel, Bach, Corelli, Graun and Schop

Matilda Lloyd (trumpet) and Martin Cousin (piano): Notes of yearning
Sunday 22 November, 5pm
Music by Brahms, Alessandro Marcello, Sofia Gubaidulina, Théo Charlier, Alec Roth and Laurence Bitensky

The Gesualdo Six: Heavenly Spheres
Sunday 29 November, 5pm
Music by Dobrinka Tabakova, Orlande de Lassus, Tim Watts, Josquin des Prez and Richard Rodney Bennett

Season tickets £45 | Individual concert tickets £10

For further information and to buy tickets, visit thegesualdosix.co.uk/london-sound-gallery 

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products