Rhinegold Photo credit: Carlin Ma
Elliot Wu

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

2018 Gilmore Young Artists announced

12:16, 6th September 2017

Pianists Wei Luo and Elliot Wuu have been named as recipients of the 2018 Gilmore Young Artist Awards.

Each receives $15,000, an engagement at the 2018 Gilmore Keyboard Festival, and a commission for a new piano composition.

Luo began piano lessons at age 5 and made her recital debut in Hong Kong at age 6. She studied at the Shanghai Conservatory, before assuming a place at the Curtis Institute of Music, where she studies with Gary Graffman and Robert McDonald.

She made her orchestral debut with the Shanghai Philharmonic in 2010 and was selected to perform in Curtis’ prestigious Dean’s Honors recital in 2014. She has received top prizes in competitions across North America, Europe, and Asia, including the Chopin International Competition for Young Pianists and the Rachmaninoff International Piano Competition for Young Pianists.

Wuu has studied at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and the Conservatory of the Arts in San Jose, California. He recently accepted a full scholarship to attend the Juilliard School.

In 2017, he was named as the winner of the National Young Arts Competition and was a US Presidential Scholar in the Arts semifinalist. He is a young scholar of the Lang Lang International Music Foundation, and a member of the Music Teachers’ Association of California Young Artist Guild (2016-2021). Competition prizes include first prize at Hilton Head, second prize at the Bösendorfer and Yamaha USASU International Piano Competition, and first prize at the Pacific Musical Society Competition, among many others.

Founded in 1989, the Gilmore Young Artist Awards aim to highlight the most promising pianists who are under the age of 22 and living in the United States. Candidates are nominated by music professionals from around the world, and are evaluated by a six-member artistic committee over an extended period of time. The entire process is carried out anonymously, and candidates are unaware of their own consideration.

Previous recipients include Jonathan Biss, Kirill Gerstein and Yuja Wang.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products