The nominees for the 62nd Grammy Awards have been revealed.

Among the classical artists to receive their first ever nominations this year are violinist Nicola Benedetti, for her collaboration with composer Wynton Marsalis on his Violin Concerto in D Major, conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla for her recording of the Weinberg Symphonies Nos 1 & 2, and composer Hildur Guðnadóttir for her work on the HBO series Chernobyl.

Nominees in the classical categories are as follows:

Best Orchestral Performance

  • Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 Manfred Honeck, conductor (Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra)
  • Copland: Billy the Kid; Grohg Leonard Slatkin, conductor (Detroit Symphony Orchestra)
  • Norman: Sustain Gustavo Dudamel, conductor (Los Angeles Philharmonic)
  • Transatlantic Louis Langrée, conductor (Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra)
  • Weinberg: Symphonies Nos 2 & 21 Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, conductor (City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra & Kremerata Baltica)

Best Opera Recording

  • Benjamin: Lessons in Love & Violence George Benjamin, conductor; Stéphane Degout, Barbara Hannigan, Peter Hoare & Gyula Orendt; James Whitbourn, producer (Orchestra of the Royal Opera House)
  • Berg: Wozzeck Marc Albrecht, conductor; Christopher Maltman & Eva-Maria Westbroek; François Roussillon, producer (Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra; Chorus Of Dutch National Opera)
  • Charpentier: Les Arts Florissants; Les Plaisirs de Versailles Paul O’Dette & Stephen Stubbs, conductors;  Jesse Blumberg, Teresa Wakim & Virginia Warnken; Renate Wolter-Seevers, producer (Boston Early Music Festival Chamber Ensemble; Boston Early Music Festival Vocal Ensemble)
  • Picker: Fantastic Mr Fox Gil Rose, conductor; John Brancy, Andrew Craig Brown, Gabriel Preisser, Krista River & Edwin Vega; Gil Rose, producer (Boston Modern Orchestra Project; Boston Children’s Chorus)
  • Wagner: Lohengrin Christian Thielemann, conductor; Piotr Beczała, Anja Harteros, Tomasz Konieczny, Waltraud Meier & Georg Zeppenfeld; Eckhard Glauche, producer (Festspielorchester Bayreuth; Festspielchor Bayreuth)

Best Choral Performance

  • Boyle: Voyages Donald Nally, conductor (The Crossing)
  • Duruflé: Complete Choral Works Robert Simpson, conductor (Ken Cowan; Houston Chamber Choir)
  • The Hope of Loving Craig Hella Johnson, conductor (Conspirare)
  • Sander: The Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom Peter Jermihov, conductor (Evan Bravos, Vadim Gan, Kevin Keys, Glenn Miller & Daniel Shirley; PaTRAM Institute Singers)
  • Smith, K: The Ark in the Sky Donald Nally, conductor (The Crossing)

Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance

  • Cerrone: The Pieces that Fall to Earth Christopher Rountree & Wild Up
  • Freedom & Faith PUBLIQuartet
  • Perpetulum Third Coast Percussion
  • Rachmaninoff – Hermitage Piano Trio Hermitage Piano Trio
  • Shaw: Orange Attacca Quartet

Best Classical Instrumental Solo

  • The Berlin Recital Yuja Wang
  • Higdon: Harp Concerto Yolanda Kondonassis; Ward Stare, conductor (The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra)
  • Marsalis: Violin Concerto; Fiddle Dance Suite Nicola Benedetti; Cristian Măcelaru, conductor (Philadelphia Orchestra)
  • The Orchestral Organ Jan Kraybill
  • Torke: Sky, Concerto for Violin Tessa Lark; David Alan Miller, conductor (Albany Symphony)

Best Classical Solo Vocal Album

  • The Edge of Silence – Works for Voice by György Kurtág Susan Narucki (Donald Berman, Curtis Macomber, Kathryn Schulmeister & Nicholas Tolle)
  • Himmelsmusik Philippe Jaroussky & Céline Scheen; Christina Pluhar, conductor; L’Arpeggiata, ensemble (Jesús Rodil & Dingle Yandell)
  • Schumann: Liederkreis Op. 24, Kerner-Lieder Op. 35 Matthias Goerne; Leif Ove Andsnes, accompanist
  • Songplay Joyce DiDonato; Chuck Israels, Jimmy Madison, Charlie Porter & Craig Terry, accompanists (Steve Barnett & Lautaro Greco)
  • A Te, O Cara Stephen Costello; Constantine Orbelian, conductor (Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra)

Best Classical Compendium

  • American Orginals 1918 John Morris Russell, conductor; Elaine Martone, producer
  • Leshnoff: Symphony No. 4 ‘Heichalos’; Guitar Concerto; Starburst Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor; Tim Handley, producer
  • Meltzer: Songs and Structures Paul Appleby & Natalia Katyukova; Silas Brown & Harold Meltzer, producers
  • The Poetry of Places Nadia Shpachenko; Marina A. Ledin & Victor Ledin, producers
  • Saariaho: True Fire; Trans; Ciel D’hiver Hannu Lintu, conductor; Laura Heikinheimo, producer

Best Contemporary Classical Composition

  • Bermel: Migration Series for Jazz Ensemble & Orchestra Derek Bermel, composer (Derek Bermel, Ted Nash, David Alan Miller, Juilliard Jazz Orchestra & Albany Symphony Orchestra)
  • Higdon: Harp Concerto Jennifer Higdon, composer (Yolanda Kondonassis, Ward Stare & The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra)
  • Marsalis: Violin Concerto in D Major Wynton Marsalis, composer (Nicola Benedetti, Cristian Măcelaru & Philadelphia Orchestra)
  • Norman: Sustain Andrew Norman, composer (Gustavo Dudamel & Los Angeles Philharmonic)
  • Shaw: Orange Caroline Shaw, composer (Attacca Quartet)
  • Wolfe: Fire in My Mouth Julia Wolfe, composer (Jaap Van Zweden, Francisco J. Núñez, Donald Nally, The Crossing, Young People’s Chorus Of NY City & New York Philharmonic)

The full list of nominees for the 62nd Grammy Awards, taking place on 26 January 2020, can be found here.