Guy Weatherall

André Cluytens: Complete orchestral and concerto recordings

8:00, 23rd August 2017

Erato 9029588669 (65CD)

While the postie will rue its purchase, this economically priced mammoth collection is self-recommending, even if the buyer already owns some of the recordings herein. His Berlin Beethoven cycle has often been overshadowed by glitzier sets but it is hugely impressive, with a compelling fourth and one of the finest Pastorals on disc. His Debussy and Ravel have panache in spades, but there is also fine Chabrier, Boieldieu, Bizet and (especially) Roussel. He was a superb accompanist: concertos with Solomon, Gilels (including a slightly brutal unpublished Beethoven C major), Oistrakh, and even Marguerite Long. With such a wide range of repertoire and such a consistently inspired standard of music making, this is strongly recommended.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products