Rhinegold Photo credit: Keith Saunders
Angela Hewitt

Melissa Bradshaw

Angela Hewitt to receive Wigmore Medal

5:05, 4th December 2019

Pianist Angela Hewitt is to be awarded the Wigmore Medal on 2 June 2020 in recognition of her international standing and contribution to the Hall over the past 35 years.

Inaugurated in 2007, the Wigmore Medal recognises significant figures in the classical music world who have a strong relationship with the Hall. Past recipients include Iestyn Davies, Steven Isserlis, Sir András Schiff, Thomas Quasthoff, Christian Gerhaher, Menahem Pressler, The Takács String Quartet and Dame Felicity Lott.

Since her debut in 1985, Hewitt has given over 80 performances at the Hall and will receive the medal following the final concert of her Bach Odyssey: a four-season survey of the composer’s complete keyboard works across 12 concerts, which began in 2016.

Hewitt says: ‘Thank you, Wigmore Hall and director John Gilhooly, for awarding me this most prestigious honour, and adding my name to such an illustrious list of former winners. There is no other recital hall stage in the world that feels more like “home” than does Wigmore, and my performances there over the past 35 years have been the backbone of my career, always giving me the inspiration to go on.’

John Gilhooly, Wigmore Hall’s artistic and executive director, says: ‘Angela is an exceptional artist, and her performances at Wigmore Hall over the past 35 years have been characterised by a timeless curiosity, technical flair and an overriding sense of artistic integrity. As her landmark Bach Odyssey reaches its conclusion, it is the perfect time to celebrate everything that Angela represents and the great esteem in which she is held by audiences here and around the world.’


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products