Rhinegold Brian Irvine’s Anything but Bland at the NI Science Festival, Belfast

Owen Mortimer

British Composer Awards attracts record number of entries

9:05, 27th October 2017

Thirty composers have been nominated for this year’s British Composer Awards, spanning 33 works across 11 categories.

From a community project exploring the refugee crisis and featuring quotes from Donald Trump, to a work examining societal perceptions of women through the metaphor of birds, to a composition calling on humankind to change its attitude towards the natural world by giving nature a musical voice, the 2017 nominations underline the many ways in which contemporary composers are using music to engage in current affairs. Crispin Hunt, Chairman at BASCA, said: ‘The works nominated here speak to politics, ecology, art and history and distil the disorder about us into form.’

The 33 nominations were selected from a record number of entries, up by 18.5 per cent compared with 2016. Young composers feature strongly, with 46 per cent of nominees under the age of 40. The number of women nominated has also continued to increase year on year, with women making up 42 per cent of the shortlist. Half the composers are first-time nominees.

The winners in each category will be announced at an awards ceremony presented by BBC Radio 3 presenters Andrew McGregor and Sara Mohr-Pietsch at the British Museum in London on Wednesday 6 December 2017. In addition to the 11 award categories, two composers will be honoured with a Gift of BASCA Award in recognition of their contributions to contemporary music throughout their careers, with one award for Inspiration (presented in association with the Music Publishers Association) and one for Innovation.

The British Composer Awards are presented by BASCA, the independent professional association representing music writers in all genres, from songwriting, through to media, contemporary classical and jazz.

2017 British Composer Awards Nominations

Amateur or Young Performers
The Feast That Went Off With A Bang by Ed Hughes
The Hogboon by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies
Who We Are by Kerry Andrew

Chamber Ensemble
Khadambi’s House by Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian
Skin by Rebecca Saunders
The wreck of former boundaries by Aaron Cassidy

Affix Stamp Here by Leo Chadburn
Proclamation of the Republic by Andrew Hamilton
The Temptations of Christ by Barnaby Martin

Community or Educational Project
Anything but Bland by Brian Irvine
BIRDS and other Stories by Emily Peasgood
Crossing Over by Emily Peasgood

Contemporary Jazz Composition
Loop Concerto for jazz trio & large ensemble by Benjamin Oliver
Muted Lines by Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian
You Are My World by Robert Mitchell

Forest by Tansy Davies
Torus (Concerto for Orchestra) by Emily Howard
Two Eardley Pictures by Helen Grime

Small Chamber
In Feyre Foreste by Robin Haigh
Omloop Het Ives by Laurence Crane
Tuvan Songbook by Christian Mason

Solo or Duo
Inside Colour by Deborah Pritchard
Merula Perpetua by Sally Beamish
Piano Sonata No 2 by Stuart MacRae

Sonic Art
cloud-cuckoo-island by Hanna Tuulikki
Luminous Birds by Kathy Hinde
Untitled Valley of Fear by Sam Salem

Stage Works
4.48 Psychosis by Philip Venables
Empty Hand, Peaceful Mind by Ben Gaunt
The Tempest by Sally Beamish

Wind Band or Brass Band
Anemoi by Joseph Davies
Four Études by Edward Gregson
In Ictu Oculi by Kenneth Hesketh

British Composer Awards

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products