Rhinegold Photo credit: Hans van der Woerd
Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Lucy Thraves


China Conservatory of Music announces new competition

9:46, 8th January 2019

The competition will run from 4-21 May 2019 in Beijing.

The inaugural edition will be devoted to piano performance. Its competitors will have been recommended by leading international musical authorities.

The winner will receive a prize of US$150,000, along with representation by Opus 3 Artists in the US and Armstrong Music and Arts in China. Second and third prizes will comprise $75,000 and $30,000 respectively.

The Philadelphia Orchestra, conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin, will perform the final round concert with each of the three competition finalists.

The jury comprises Li-guang Wang, president of the competition; Yoheved Kaplinsky, chairman of the jury and artistic director; Dmitri Alexeev; Jan Jiracek von Arnim; Lydia Artymiw; Boris Berman; Michel Beroff; Fabio Bidini; Warren Jones; Katarzyna Popowa-Zydroń; and Arie Vardi.

Li-guang Wang said: ‘With its great passion for music, China welcomes you with open arms to inspire us with the timeless harmonies and colours of the piano.’

Yoheved Kaplinsky, artistic director, said that she was looking forward to ’16 days of music-making at the highest artistic level.’ She continued: ‘We have assembled a jury that will listen to carefully chosen contestants with the utmost integrity and artistic expertise. We pledge to provide a nourishing environment for the participants and create a platform for them to be heard, supported, and treated with dignity and respect.’

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products