The category winners of the 2019 Gramophone Classical Music Awards have been revealed.

The 10 winners will now go on to compete for the Recording of the Year Award, which will be announced at a ceremony in London on 16 October. The evening will be broadcast by Medici TV to audiences in more than 180 countries.

Category winners are as follows:

Chamber (sponsored by Kings Place)

Disc: Debussy Les Trois Sonates (The Late Works)

Artists: Isabelle Faust (violin), Alexander Melnikov (piano), Tanguy de Williencourt (piano), Magali Mosnier (flute), Antoine Tamestit (viola), Xavier de Maistre (harp), Jean-Guihen Queyras (cello), Javier Perianes (piano)

Label: Harmonia Mundi


Disc: Buxtehude’s Abendmusiken

Artists: Vox Luminis, Lionel Meunier, Ensemble Masques and Oliver Fortin

Label: Alpha Classics


Disc: Saint-Saëns’ Piano Concertos nos 2 & 5

Artists: Bertrand Chamayou, Orchestre national de France

Label: Erato

Contemporary (sponsored by PPL & PRS for Music)

Disc: Brett Dean’s Hamlet

Artists: Allan Clayton, Sarah Connolly, Barbara Hannigan, Rod Gilfry, London Philharmonic Orchestra and Glyndebourne Chorus

Label: Opus Arte

Early Music

Disc: Manuel Cardoso’s Requiem, Lamentations, Magnificat and Motets

Artists: Cupertinos and Luís Toscano

Label: Hyperion


Disc: The Berlin Recital

Artist: Yuja Wang

Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Opera (sponsored by E Gutzwiller et Cie, Private Bankers)

Disc: Halévy’s La Reine de Chype

Artists: Orchestre de Chambre de Paris, Hervé Niquet with the Chœur de la radio flamande, and soloists Véronique Gens, Cyrille Dubois, Étienne Dupuis, Éric Huchet, Christophoros Stamboglis, Artavazd Sargsyan and Tomislav Lavoie

Label: Bru Zane


Disc: Rued Langgaard’s Symphonies Nos 2 and 6

Artists: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Sakari Oramo

Label: Dacapo


Disc: Cavalli opera arias, ‘Ombra mai fu’

Artists: Philippe Jaroussky, Ensemble Artarsere

Disc: Erato

Solo Vocal (sponsored by Mrs Joan Jones)

Disc: Schumann ‘Frage’

Artists: Christian Gerhaher and Gerold Huber

Label: Sony Classical

Gramophone’s editor in chief, James Jolly, said: ‘I am absolutely thrilled with these winning recordings for their range, their depth, their masterly insight and the way they shine a spotlight on some of the finest musicians of our day.’

Listen to the winning albums and a winner’s playlist on Gramophone‘s curator page at Apple Music.