Lucy Thraves


Jane Mitchell wins RPS ABO Salomon Prize

11:34, 10th September 2020

The Royal Philharmonic Society and Association of British Orchestras unite annually to present the Salomon Prize, the only award presented to orchestral musicians working in Britain. 

This year’s winner is Jane Mitchell, principal flute and creative director of Aurora Orchestra.

The judging panel described her as ‘a distinct creative force and catalyst at the heart of the Aurora Orchestra’s programming, presentation and performance. She continually pushes the boundaries of the orchestra’s work, developing a fresh artistic blueprint which has transformed the expectations of audiences and players, all the while sustaining the highest musical quality.’

They highlighted her curation of Aurora’s strand for young people, Far Far Away, its Orchestral Theatre series, and last summer’s theatrical performance of Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique.

The panel also commended Katherine Wren, viola player with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, for her work delivering Nordic Viola, a project designed to create and share music with people in remote reaches of the North Atlantic.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products