Rhinegold Photo credit: Emile Holba

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Laurence Crane receives Paul Hamlyn Foundation award

8:00, 9th November 2017

Composer Laurence Crane has been named as a recipient of the Paul Hamlyn Foundation Awards for Artists 2017.

Crane is one of ten visual artists and composers living and working in the UK to receive £60,000 with no strings attached.

Crane said he felt ‘more than a little overwhelmed’ by the news and confirmed that the grant would allow him to realise some larger projects ‘which might otherwise have been impossible’.

Other composers to receive Awards for Artists were Mary Hampton, Leafcutter John, Serafina Steer and Byron Wallen. The judging panel for the composers award was chaired by Joanna MacGregor, and also included Ivan Hewett and Adem Ilhan.

Launched in 1994, Awards for Artists supports visual artists and composers at a pivotal moment in their careers.

This year’s awards have seen an increase in the number of composers to win awards from three to five, as well as the amount of money received by each individual.

Since its inception, Awards for Artists has benefited over 150 artists with funds of over £6m. Composers whose careers have been supported by the awards include Sally Beamish (1994), Luke Bedford (2007), Tansy Davies (2009) and Anna Meredith (2010).


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products