Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

LSO reveals 2017/18 Soundhub and Jerwood Composer+ intake

4:01, 4th October 2017

The London Symphony Orchestra has selected six composers for its 2017/18 Soundhub and Jerwood Composer+ programmes.

Yvonne Eccles, Robin Haigh, Lillie Harris and Nick Morrish Rarity have been selected for LSO Soundhub. Now in its sixth year, the scheme provides a supportive environment where composers can explore, collaborate and experiment, with access to vital resources, equipment and professional support.

Emma-Jean Thackray and Jasmin Kent Rodgman are the first composers to be selected for the new LSO Jerwood Composer+ programme. The scheme will support composers in programming, planning and delivering two chamber-scale concerts in the Jerwood Hall at LSO St Luke’s, including work of their own developed through the programme.

Composers will gain entrepreneurial skills around programming for specific audiences, planning and organising events, marketing and budgeting, gaining knowledge and practical experience in how to establish and promote themselves professionally. Guidance and expertise will be available from LSO staff and an external mentor, and composers will also have access to compositional workshops and masterclasses with other composers and LSO. Each composer will curate two showcase concerts in spring and autumn 2018.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products