The Welsh Music Guild held its annual awards ceremony at the opening weekend of the National Eisteddfod.

Founded in 1955 by John Edwards, the organisation aims to promote the careers and works of musicians through liaison with broadcasting and recording companies, festival organisers and global musical bodies.

‘Today we will celebrate a plethora of extraordinary talented individuals, either Welsh-born or residing in Wales, by recognising their massive contribution to the enhancement of our culture and positioning on the world stage,’ said president, Sir Norman Lloyd-Edwards.

‘Individually they have all become high achievers in their given fields and their tireless efforts should be deservedly recognised in this way.’

The winners of the Welsh Music Guild Awards 2018 are:

  • The 2018 John Edwards Memorial Award: Dr Lyn Davies, former head of Vocal Studies at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
  • The 2018 Sir Geraint Evans Award for a significant contribution to Welsh Music: Geraint Lewis, artistic director of the Lower Machen Festival
  • The 2018 Glanville Jones Award for an outstanding achievement in music in Wales: Gillian Green MBE, artistic director of the Fishguard International Music Festival
  • The 2018 Joseph Parry Award for an exceptional contribution to musical education in Wales: Suzanne Hay, head of partnerships and learning, BBC National Orchestra of Wales
  • The 2018 J Mervyn Williams Award for a contribution to the communication of Welsh music through media production: Mark Wilkinson, senior vice president, International Marketing and Artists & Repertoire at Universal Music, Global Classics