Rhinegold (L-R) Winners in the 19 - 25 years category: Derri Joseph Lewis and Sarah Cattley

Melissa Bradshaw

NCEM Young Composers Award winners announced

2:13, 13th May 2019

The culmination of the 11th National Centre for Early Music Young Composers Award, presented in partnership with BBC Radio 3, took place last week at the National Centre for Early Music (NCEM) in York.

This year there were two winners in the 19 – 25 years category, Sarah Cattley and Derri Joseph Lewis, and in the under 18 years category Stephen Jesse Rees was highly commended.

Young composers living in the UK were invited to compose a new piece A Fantasy, for Solo Viol or Viol with Electronics. The shortlisted works were performed during workshops taking place over two days, supported by one of the world’s leading viol exponents, Liam Byrne at the NCEM on Thursday 9 May 2019.

This was followed by a public concert in the evening, judged by Byrne, BBC Radio 3 Producer Les Pratt, and Delma Tomlin MBE, director of the NCEM.

Lewis’s composition Walls of Brass and Cattley’s composition Dream Fever will be premiered by Byrne at Glitch, Bristol on 12 October 2019 and recorded for broadcast on BBC Radio 3’s Early Music Show.

Delma Tomlin MBE, director of the NCEM, said:

‘Once again the NCEM Young Composers Award has attracted composers from all over the UK and we were delighted by the response we received and the high standard of entries. Here at the NCEM we are continually moving forward creating a unique sound for the 21st century by using music from the past. We are thrilled to be working with Liam Byrne who has shown dedication and commitment throughout and has been a true inspiration to the creativity of our young finalists.

‘The inclusion of an electronic element this year has been fascinating and has added a completely different dynamic to the competition and we hope that the work will help us engage with a wider demographic, helping us attract new audiences for the future.’


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products