Rhinegold Photo credit: Nancy Horowitz
CBSO's current music director Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla

Melissa Bradshaw

New book by Richard Bratby explores history of the CBSO

8:56, 21st October 2019

A new book, ‘Forward: 100 Years of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra’ by Richard Bratby, celebrates the orchestra’s history as it approaches its centenary year.

The book will be published on 28 November 2019 by Elliot & Thompson Limited in association with the CBSO, and available to purchase from the CBSO website from 14 November 2019.

Illustrated with archive and contemporary images, including previously unpublished material, Forward: 100 Years of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra will tell the story of the orchestra’s 100-year history and how it evolved from a part-time municipal ensemble into an internationally renowned symphony orchestra. It will explore the CBSO’s milestones over the years and what each of its conductors have brought to the orchestra, from Leslie Heward to Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla.

The CBSO launched its two-year long centenary celebrations last month with the opening of its 2019/20 season, with highlights including 40 centenary commissions, a focus on choral masterpieces associated with Birmingham, a concert programmed and curated by 12 Youth Ambassadors, extensive touring plans and guest artists including Nicola Benedetti, Benjamin Grosvenor and Piotr Anderszewski.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products