Guy Weatherall

Perfido!: Concert arias by Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven

8:00, 23rd August 2017

Sophie Bevan (s); The Mozartists, Ian Page
Signum Classics SIGCD485

This generous and thoughtfully chosen sequence of arias begins with Haydn’s Scena di Berenice, with Bevan in imperious form yet alive to text and colour throughout. The programme, which ends with a superbly dramatic Ah! Perfido of Beethoven, celebrates the connections between the three composers, yet there is sufficient contrast in mood and intensity that at no point does the disc outstay its welcome. With delightfully pointed playing from Page’s recently-formed ensemble, and with fine sound and presentation, this is a treasure.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products