Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Inaugural Philip Jones International Brass Ensemble Competition announced

11:14, 21st February 2018

The inaugural Philip Jones International Brass Ensemble Competition will take place 15-20 July 2019 at the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester.

The competition aims to showcase excellence and enterprise in brass chamber music performance, building on the legacy of Philip Jones CBE (1928-2000) and providing a platform for a new generation of brass players.

The inaugural competition will be for brass quintet (two trumpets, one horn, trombone, tuba). Players should be aged between 16 and 30, and the average age of any group at 20 July 2019 should not be more than 28 years.

Three major prizes will be awarded during the event: the Philip Jones Prize (£10,000), the Marah Mahlowe Prize (£7,500) and the Founder’s Prize (£5,000).

The international jury will comprise five individuals (two trumpets, one horn, trombone and tuba) with special expertise in this field, and will be chaired by Reinhold Friedrich.

Applications for this competition will be received in summer 2018, and it is anticipated that 16 groups will be chosen to come to Manchester. Selection will be from submitted video-recordings, based on the criteria of musical quality, enterprise and presentation.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products