Melissa Bradshaw

Shortlist announced for 2019 Royal Philharmonic Society Awards

5:30, 7th October 2019

The Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) has today announced the shortlist for its 2019 awards.

This year’s nominees are as follows:

  • Chamber-Scale Composition – Clara Iannotta – dead wasps in the jam-jar (iii); Julian Anderson – String Quartet No. 3; Tansy Davies – Cave
  • Concert Series and Events – The Cumnock Tryst; Freedom Season – Welsh National Opera; The Nature of Why – British Paraorchestra; Stockhausen: Comic Prophet – Southbank Centre
  • Conductor – Francois Xavier-Roth; Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla; Robert Ames
  • Ensemble – Aurora Orchestra; BSO Resound; Royal Northern Sinfonia
  • Impact – BSO Change Makers and Resound; Empowering Young Carers – Bath Philharmonia; Streetwise Opera
  • Instrumentalist – Alina Ibragimova, violin; Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello; Mahan Esfahani, harpsichord
  • Large-Scale Composition – Anna Meredith – Five Telegrams; George Benjamin – Lessons in Love and Violence; Per Nørgård – Symphony No. 3; Rebecca Saunders – Yes
  • Opera and Music Theatre – Lady Macbeth of Mtsensek – Birmingham Opera Company; Royal Opera; The Second Violinist – Irish National Opera and Landmark Productions
  • Singer – Carolyn Sampson, soprano; Elaine Mitchener, vocalist; Nina Stemme, soprano
  • Storytelling – Debussy: A Painter in Sound – Stephen Walsh; Janet Baker: In Her Own Words – John Bridcut/BBC4; Michael Tippett The Biography – Oliver Soden
  • Young Artists – Castalian String Quartet; The Hermes Experiment; Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello

New RPS chief executive James Murphy comments: ‘The RPS Awards are a fantastic chance for music lovers nationally to discover who has made an extraordinary impact in the last year, and who to follow in the years ahead. There are so many inspirational artists and initiatives to discover on this year’s shortlist, collectively illustrating the vibrant role classical music plays enriching the United Kingdom.’

Winners will be announced at the RPS Awards on Thursday 28 November 2019, held for the first time at Battersea Arts Centre in London and presented in association with BBC Radio 3.

Two further honours will be announced at the ceremony: the newest recipient of the RPS Gold Medal, whose previous recipients include the late Jessye Norman, Dame Mitsuko Uchida, Sir Simon Rattle and Leonard Bernstein among others, and the RPS’s brand new Gamechanger Award for an individual, group or organisation who has done inspirational work breaking new ground in classical music.

Tickets are available now and can be purchased here.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products