Rhinegold Photo credit: Benjamin Ealovega

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Shortlist announced for Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition 2018

12:05, 14th November 2017

The 12 string quartets selected to take part in the 14th edition of the Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition (10-15 April 2018) have been announced.

The shortlisted ensembles include three quartets based in the UK, three each from the USA and Germany, one each from France, Japan and one which is based between the UK, Switzerland and Spain, with musicians of 19 nationalities between them.

They are:

The winning quartet will receive a £10,000 cash prize, a UK concert tour, residencies at the Banff Centre, Canada and Avaloch Farm Music Institute, USA and a place at the McGill International String Quartet Academy.

In addition to the second (£6,000) and third (£3,000) prizes, there are a range of grants and career development prizes available.

John Gilhooly will chair the judging panel, which will also include leading string quartet musicians Jonathan Brown, András Fejér, Nobuko Imai, Bjørg Lewis, Heime Müller and Károly Schranz.

The competition is at the heart of a week-long celebration of the string quartet at Wigmore Hall. The week will also include concerts by former competition prize-winners including the Arcadia, Atrium and Belcea Quartets, as well as pre-concert talks, masterclasses, family events and a film screening.



From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products