Rhinegold Photo credit: Juno Snowdon Photography

Melissa Bradshaw

Trinity Laban launches new Innovation Award

4:12, 9th August 2019

London Conservatoire Trinity Laban has launched a new award celebrating creative entrepreneurship, the Innovation Award.

The Dragon’s Den style competition sees students pitch artistic and business projects to an expert panel and win professional mentoring and seed funding. In March, shortlisted applicants had the chance to pitch to internationally renowned movement director Kate Flatt, creative producer and former associate director of Serious Martel Ollerenshaw, and Trinity Laban principal Anthony Browne in a bid to win one of six awards.

2019’s winners are:

  • Matthew Crisp
  • Rhys Davies and Toby Carswell
  • Sahra Gure
  • Mass Hysteria (dance collective)
  • James Layton
  • Megan Storer

Funded by Trinity Laban’s Higher Education Innovation Fund allocation, each winning project receives an award of £1,700 to use on development and will benefit from a specially tailored mentorship programme delivered by acclaimed Trinity Laban alumni.

‘The Innovation Award winners are just a few of the incredibly talented Music and Dance students that graduate from Trinity Laban every year and are contributing to the UK’s rich cultural landscape,’ commented Trinity Laban’s head of CoLab and co-founder of the award, Joe Townsend. ‘We want to continue to support students with the transition between life at Conservatoire and launching a sustainable career in the performing arts. The Innovation Award has been specifically designed with this in mind.’

Further information about the award can be found here.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products