Lucy Thraves


Vasily Petrenko and Oslo Philharmonic announce UK tour

5:02, 6th December 2018

The Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra will celebrate its centenary in 2019 with a programme of international tours.

From 6-10 March, the orchestra will return to the UK to give five anniversary concerts – at St David’s Hall, Cardiff; Nottingham’s Royal Concert Hall; Symphony Hall, Birmingham; Leeds Town Hall; and Sage Gateshead.

The programme will draw from a list of major orchestral works including Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet, Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 3, Delius’s On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring, Grieg’s Piano Concerto and Sibelius’s Symphony No 5.

The soloist for piano concertos will be Nikolai Lugansky.

‘We want the greatest possible number of people to hear the Oslo Philharmonic in its centenary year,’ said Petrenko. ‘This tour of the UK is an important part of our international celebrations. I’m very glad that, because of it, British audiences will have the chance to hear the orchestra during its landmark anniversary.’


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products