Rhinegold Photo credit: Leslie Burgher
Left to right: George Stevenson, Gareth Flett, Joseph Rognvald Pickering and Andra Patterson

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Winners of 2017 St Magnus Composers Competition announced

3:18, 23rd June 2017

The four winners of the 2017 St Magnus International Festival Composers Competition have been announced.

Andra Patterson and George Stevenson were jointly awarded the first prize for the over 18 category for Magnushymnen and Bana-sar respectively, and Gareth Flett and Joseph Rognvald Pickering won first prize for the under 18 category with Frior a Magne and Orkneyinga.

All four composers had their winning pieces performed at this year’s Festival by the Assembly Project, conducted by Alasdair Nicolson. There will be a further performance of the winning works in Canterbury Christ Church University in the spring of 2018.

To mark the 900th anniversary of the death of St Magnus, this year’s competition invited composers to write a new work based around the medieaval Hymn to St Magnus (Nobilis Humilis), one of the oldest surviving pieces of polyphony.

Judges included Sally Beamish and Alasdair Nicolson.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products