This Saturday (9 February), the winners of the New Elizabethan Award will perform in a showcase event at Wigmore Hall.

The inaugural New Elizabethan Award was presented last summer by the Musicians’ Company to outstanding performers of lute and guitar repertoire by composers of the two golden ages of Elizabethan music.

The winners were Jesse Flowers (guitar), Andrey Levedev (guitar) and Lotte Betts-Dean (mezzo-soprano).

This Saturday, they will perform works by Dowland, Britten and Phillip Houghton among others.

Applications for the next NEA should be submitted by 30 April 2020.

Full details of the award can be viewed on the Musicians’ Company’s website: