The Westfield Centre has announced the winners of the 2012 International Harpsichord competition. The competition took place at The University of Maryland, College Park School of Music, with entrants performing on modern reconstructions of period instruments.

The competition was open to musicians of all nationalities, under the age of 35. Five candidates made it through to the final, which saw Ignacio Prego take the top prize. He was awarded with $7,500, as well as being offered the opportunity to perform solo concerts in a selection of venues. Second prize was presented to Julia Ageyeva Hess from Estonia, and the audience prize went to Ronan Khalil.

The competition’s jury was made up of a number of American historical performance musicians, including Aulos Ensemble member Arthur Haas, and former Gustav Leonhardt student Christine Schornsheim. The judging panel also included British musician Davitt Moroney, who studied at King’s College London, as well as receiving diploma’s from the Royal Academy of Music and the Royal College of Music.

Founded in the 1979, the Westfield Centre describes itself as ‘an advocate for the organ, harpsichord, fortepiano, and clavichord’. The organisation was first established by Lynn Edwards and Edward Pepe to promote historically informed performance practice and instrument building.