Rebecca Pizzey

Editorial assistant

Reinhard Goebel awarded Bach Medal

10:04, 6th June 2017

The 2017 City of Leipzig Bach Medal is to be awarded to the violinist and conductor Reinhard Goebel, founder of Musica Antiqua Köln. One of the most influential early instrumentalists and directors of the second half of the 20th century, most notably in north German Baroque chamber music, Goebel has been called an ‘icon of early music’.

The medal will be presented to Reinhard Goebel by the Mayor of Leipzig, Burkhard Jung, and the director of the Bach Archive, Peter Wollny, as part of the Leipzig Bach Festival, on 17 June, in the city’s Altes Rathaus.

In recognition of their special services to the upholding of Bach’s legacy, the City of Leipzig Bach Medal has in the past been awarded to such figures as Peter Kooij (2016), Masaaki Suzuki (2012), Herbert Blomstedt (2011), Philippe Herreweghe (2010), Frieder Bernius (2009), Nikolaus Harnoncourt (2007), Ton Koopman (2006), Sir John Eliot Gardiner (2005), Helmuth Rilling (2004) and Gustav Leonhardt (2003).


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products