Rhinegold Photo credit: Ralph Lauer
Yekwon Sunwoo gives his winning performance of Rachmaninov's Third Concerto in the 2017 Cliburn Competition

Owen Mortimer

Cliburn Competition postponed to 2022

4:55, 22nd September 2020

The 16th edition of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition has been postponed until 2022. Originally scheduled for next spring, the Competition will now take place 2-18 June 2022 in Fort Worth, Texas, USA.

The postponement was ratified unanimously by the Cliburn’s board of directors due to implications arising from the global pandemic. Key factors include the ongoing need for social distancing, difficulties surrounding international travel and general planning uncertainty.

‘The Cliburn Competition is a once-every-four-years opportunity for us to showcase exceptional artists and bring the international classical music community together in Fort Worth,’ said Jacques Marquis, Cliburn president and CEO. ‘It’s become clear in recent months that the continuing effects of the pandemic will prevent us from producing an event at the level and with the impact that our patrons, supporters and – most importantly – our competitors deserve. Now, with a clear path forward, we can plan a Competition that will achieve new heights and be a fitting celebration of international strength and unity after such challenging times.’

The application submission deadline for the Competition has also been extended until 14 October 2021, with an additional year of eligibility added for competitors. For this edition only, applicants may be 18 to 31 years of age (born after 12 June 1990, and on or before 2 June 2004). A longlist of 72 applicants will be invited for screening auditions in Fort Worth in March 2022. From those, 30 will be selected to return to compete in June 2022

Established in 1962, the quadrennial Van Cliburn International Piano Competition is widely recognised as one of the preeminent international music contests. The finals are attended by a live audience in Fort Worth as well as reaching a global online viewership of over five million. In addition to generous cash prizes, Cliburn medallists receive three years of comprehensive career management, artistic support and international promotion. Distinguished alumni incude Radu Lupu (1966), Barry Douglas (1985), Olga Kern (2001), Vadym Kholodenko (2013), Beatrice Rana (2013) and Yekwon Sunwoo (2017).

The Cliburn

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products