Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Inaugural Wadsworth Piano Competition semi-finalists announced

4:01, 12th February 2018

The eight semi-finalists selected for the inaugural Charles Wadsworth Piano Competition (CWPC) have been announced.

They are: Nadia Azzi (Colburn School, CA), Hilda Huang (Yale University, CT), Aristo Sham (Harvard University, MA), Zhiheng Guo (Manhattan School of Music, NY), Dominic Cheli (Colburn School, CA), Michael Davidman (Curtis Institute of Music, PA), Angie Zhang (Juilliard School, NY), Peng Lin (Juilliard School, NY).

Named after the founding director of the Chamber Music Society at Lincoln Center and former artistic director of the Spoleto USA Festival, the competition will take place 22-25 April 2018, and is is dedicated to providing artistic and entrepreneurial growth opportunities for talented pianists aged 18 to 25 in the early stages of their careers.

The eight competitors selected from the preliminary audition will travel to Newnan to take part in the semi-final and final rounds of the competition, adjudicated by jurors Anne-Marie McDermott, Pedja Muzijevic, and Jeffrey Swann. They will perform a 40-50 minute programme of their choosing, and the three finalists will perform a Romantic-era concert piece of their choosing, as well as a piano quintet in collaboration with the Aeolus Quartet.

The first prize winner will receive $15,000, with pianists in second and third place winning $7,500 and $5,000 respectively. The eight semifinalists will be eligible for $1,000 awards for contemporary music achievement, and for chamber music achievement. The five competitors in the in-person round who do not make the final round all receive a $1,000 stipend.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products