Owen Mortimer

National Chopin Competition 2020 names 26 participants

12:28, 28th January 2020

The Chopin Foundation of the United States has selected 26 young American pianists to participate in the 10th National Chopin Piano Competition in Miami, Florida between 22 February and 1 March 2020. The top prize of $100k is the highest award offered by any piano competition in the country.

The first- and second-prize winners of the National Chopin Competition will automatically be accepted to compete in the 2020 International Chopin Competition in Warsaw. The first-prize winner is also sent on an extensive concert tour in the US and abroad, arranged by the Chopin Foundation. Travel expenses to compete in the International Chopin Competition in Warsaw are included in the six finalists’ award package.

‘From an early age, these talented pianists are dedicated and disciplined. Their talent and hard work deserve this kind of reward,’ said Chopin Foundation founder and president, Blanka A Rosenstiel. ‘The joy that their playing brings to this chaotic world is priceless.’ Full biographies of all the competitors can be viewed online at chopin.org/meet-the-contestants.

The National Chopin Competition’s jury will be chaired by the American pianist Kevin Kenner, a past winner of top prizes at the International Chopin and Tchaikovsky competitions. He will be joined by fellow jurors Ning An, Edward Auer, Dean Kramer, Jon Nakamatsu, Antonio Pompa-Baldi, Eva Poblocka, Katarzyna Popowa-Zydroń and Margarita Shevchenko.

Kevin Kenner: ‘The Foundation is providing a valuable service to our culture.’
Kevin Kenner: ‘The Foundation is providing a valuable service to our culture.’

‘The Foundation is providing a valuable service to our culture,’ says Kenner. ‘I don’t think I could have developed the career I have now had it not been for the Chopin Competition, as well as the support of the Chopin Foundation.’

The 10th National Chopin Piano Competition will take place at the Miami-Dade County Auditorium. All events are free and open to the public except the anniversary gala concert with Yulianna Avdeeva, winner of the 2010 International Chopin Piano Competition, and the concerto finals. The entire competition will be streamed online at chopin.org.

Held every five years since 1975, past prizewinners of the National Chopin Piano Competition include Charles Abramovic, Claire Huangci, Andrew Tyson, Eric Lu and George Li.

Chopin Foundation of the United States

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products