Rhinegold Photo credit: Simon Soong
The prizewinners of the 10th National Chopin Piano Competition

Josephine Miles

National Chopin Competition announces prizewinners

10:28, 5th March 2020

18-year-old Avery Gagliano is awarded the top prize of $100k and a Steinway & Sons recording contract

The Chopin Foundation of the United States has announced the prizewinners of the 10th National Chopin Piano Competition which took place in Miami, Florida between 22 February and 1 March. Following several rounds of performances by 25 contestants, the jury crowned Avery Gagliano first prize winner.

First prize winner Avery Gagliano

Gagliano, who studies with Gary Graffman and Jonathan Biss at the Curtis Institute of Music, receives $100k (the highest cash award offered by any American piano competition), a Steinway & Sons recording contract, and a pre-scheduled international concert tour. The tour begins this month in Florida and continues to venues such as the Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall and the Salle Cortot in Paris.

The second prize of $30k was awarded to 21-year-old Evren Ozel who studies with Wha Kyung Byun at the New England Conservatory. Both Gagliano and Ozel have been automatically accepted to compete at the International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw this October as part of their prizes.

The full list of prizewinners is as follows:

First Prize – $100k

Avery Gagliano

Second Prize – $30k

Evren Ozel

Third Prize – $20k

Parker Van Ostrand

Tied Fourth Prize

Umi Garrett ($5k)

Chelsea Guo ($5k)

Sixth Prize – $5k

Talon Smith



Best Mazurka – $2k

Evren Ozel

Best Polonaise – $2k

Evren Ozel

Best Sonata – $2k

Parker Van Ostrand

Best Concerto – $2k

Avery Gagliano



From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products