Rhinegold Photo credit: Robbie Lawrence
Igor Levit is streaming 'house concerts' every evening on Twitter

Josephine Miles

Pianists and promoters reach out to audiences online

10:10, 21st March 2020

As concerts across the world are cancelled and artists face strict social distancing and self-isolation measures, many are taking to the web to share their music-making with us. From live social media streams to archive concert recordings, here are a few ways to watch fantastic piano performances online.

  • Igor Levit is broadcasting ‘house concerts’ every evening at 7pm CET (6pm GMT) on Twitter. The pianist tweeted on 19 March: ‘I have probably never felt the actual life saving meaning of music and sound before – not in this existential dimension of today. Thank you for allowing me to share this with you. This is what keeps my inner light burning these days.’
  • Bavarian State Opera’s recording of its Fifth Academy Concert with Igor Levit, filmed on 16 March, is available to watch online until 31 March. Levit performed Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations.
  • Boris Giltburg is streaming live lunchtime recitals from his home every Monday and Wednesday at 1pm CET (12pm GMT) on Twitter and Facebook. He’ll also be giving recitals on the Fridays when he isn’t adding a new Beethoven sonata to his ‘Beethoven 32’ project: a year-long quest to learn and film all of Beethoven’s piano sonatas in celebration of the composer’s 250th anniversary.
  • Lise de la Salle is running ‘Confinement Live’ events every Tuesday and Saturday at 7pm CET (6pm GMT) via her Facebook page. Audience members are invited to send in questions which De la Salle will answer during the live sessions.
  • A free, live video stream of Jonathan Biss performing Beethoven’s last three sonatas – Opp 109, 110 and 111 – is planned for the anniversary of the composer’s death on Thursday 26 March. Originally scheduled as a live, ticketed event at the 92nd Street Y’s Kaufmann Concert Hall, the recital will be live streamed at 7.30pm (EDT), 11.30pm (GMT) and 12.30am (CET).
  • Junction Piano Trio pianist Conrad Tao has uploaded a streamed performance to Facebook of Frederic Rzewski’s epic The People United Will Never Be Defeated – 36 variations on a Chilean protest song and anthem of unity.
  • The LSO and Sir Simon Rattle have launched ‘Always Playing’, an initiative that will see archive concert recordings streamed at the orchestra’s usual concert times of 7:30pm GMT on Thursdays and 7pm GMT on Sundays. Upcoming piano highlights include:
    • 12 April, 7pm: Seong-Jin Cho performing Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 2 under Gianandrea Noseda
    • 19 April, 7pm: Katia and Marielle Labèque in works by Bernstein and Argentine composer Osvaldo Golijov
  • Russian pianist Yulia Chaplina has launched a free online video series featuring ‘light and positive’ repertoire designed to help listeners feel better. She says a lot of her upcoming concerts have been cancelled, ‘so this activity is great for my wellbeing too!’
  • James Rhodes, on lockdown in Madrid, is sharing videos daily on Twitter and Facebook, with a particular focus on the music of Chopin.
  • British pianist Julian Jacobson is streaming a Daily Coffee Piano Moment at 11am (GMT) each morning via his Twitter page and video app Periscope
  • Every Friday from 27 March, Christina McMaster will post a new video combining music, restorative yoga and meditation as part of her ongoing initiative ‘Lie Down + Listen‘.

We will aim to keep this list updated. Please let us know of any other online piano concerts you come across!

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products