Rhinegold Photo credit: Chris Lee
Jury member Olga Kern

Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

Scottish International Piano Competition announces 2017 competitors

12:30, 21st June 2017

Thirty-two competitors from 20 countries have been selected to take part in the Scottish International Piano Competition, which will take place 1 – 10 September 2017.

The finalists are:

  • Piotry Alexewicz, Poland
  • Svetlana Andreeva, Russia
  • In-Ju Bang, South Korea
  • Sung-Soo Cho, South Korea
  • Ludovica de Bernardo, Italy
  • Can Cakmur, Turkey
  • Vivianne Cheng, USA
  • Andrea Dubov, Russia
  • Jonathan Ferrucci, Italy/Australia (Guildhall School of Music and Drama)
  • Anna Geniushene, Russia (Royal Academy of Music)
  • George Harliono-Evans, UK (Royal College of Music)
  • Yixing Hou, USA
  • Luke Jones, UK (Royal Northern College of Music)
  • Uikyung Jung, South Korea
  • Nejc Kamplet, Slovenia
  • Kang Tae Kim, South Korea
  • Marina Koka, Japan
  • Ilya Kondrateiv, Russia (Royal College of Music)
  • Siqian Li, China
  • Robertas Lozinskis, Lithuania (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)
  • Martin Malmgreen, Sweden
  • Gunter Marie Rosa, Germany
  • Florian Mitrea, Romania
  • Riyad Nicolas, Syria (Royal Academy of Music)
    Federico Nicoletta, Italy
  • Yeontaek Oh, South Korea
  • Luka Orkrostvaridze, Georgia
  • Anna Szalucka, Poland (Royal Academy of Music)
  • Antonina Suhanova, Latvia (Guildhall School of Music and Drama)
  • Hin Yat Tsang, Hong Kong
  • Sean Yeh, USA
  • Yuliya Yermalayeva, Belarus

The preliminary rounds take place at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (RCS) in Glasgow from 1 September to 4 September, and are followed by the semi-finals on 6 and 7 September. The final will take place in the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall on 10 September.

All pianists will present two, 30 minute recitals, before the ten semi-finalists are selected. The semi-finalists will perform a newly commissioned piano work by composer Gordon McPherson, and the three finalists will each perform a concerto with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra under Thomas Søndergård.

The first prize-winner will receive £10,000, the Alexander Stone Memorial Trophy and the Frederic Lamond Gold Medal, and will perform with the RSNO in the 2018/19 season. Second prize is £7,500 and the Lawrence Glover Silver Medal, and third prize is £5,000.

The seven semi-finalists who do not go through to the final each receive £1,000. There is also a prize of £500 for the best performance of the new work in the semi-final.

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland head of keyboard Aaron Shorr will chair the jury, which also comprises Steven Osborne, Olga Kern, Meng-Chieh Liu, Peter Tuite, Soo-Jung Shin, Ivari Ilja and Krishna Thiagaragan.

Tickets for all rounds and the final go on sale from Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (first two rounds and semi-finals) and Glasgow Royal Concert Hall (final) box offices from 3 July. There are plans to live stream the first rounds of the competition from the RCS.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products