Tchaikovsky Competition 2019 piano finalists announced

2:57, 25th June 2019

Report from Gramophone

The finalists of the 16th International Tchaikovsky Competition have been revealed. The mostly hotly viewed category, the piano, once again had a surprise up its sleeve. Instead of a final half dozen competitors, the jury, chaired by Denis Matsuev, have put forward seven players.

The following young artists will compete in the Concerto Round, starting on Tuesday 25 June:

  • Konstantin Yemelyanov (Russia)
  • Dmitriy Shishkin (Russia)
  • An Tianxu (China)
  • Alexey Melnikov (Russia)
  • Alexandre Kantorow (France)
  • Mao Fujita (Japan
  • Kenneth Broberg (USA)

Each pianist will play a concerto by Tchaikovsky (only Kantorow has chosen No 2, the rest have opted for No 1) and a concerto of his own choice. They will join the State Academic Symphony Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko for the final round. All performances will be streamed live on Medici.tv and will be introduced by Gramophone’s editor-in-chief, James Jolly, and Irina Tushintseva.

Neither of the two women in the 14-strong Round 2 line-up made it through, and two widely admired players – Andrey Gugnin (Russia) and Dohyun Kim (Korea) – also failed to make the final selection.

The winner of this year’s piano prize will be announced on Thursday 27 June in the Great Hall of Moscow State Conservatory.

XVI Tchaikovsky International Competition


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products