Rhinegold Photo credit: Benjamin Ealovega
Wigmore Hall

Melissa Bradshaw

Lux Trio wins 2019 Parkhouse Award

3:49, 25th April 2019

The Lux Trio has been awarded the 2019 Parkhouse Award at London’s Wigmore Hall. Founded in 2014 and based in Berlin, the Korean-born trio comprises pianist Eunyoo An, violinist Jae Hyeong Lee and cellist Hoon Sun Chae.

The Parkhouse Award jury, led by chairman Chris de Souza, also heard Trio Incendio (Czechoslovakia), Amarins Wierdsma and Edward Liddall (Netherlands and UK), and Trio Ramales (Spain).

Winning the Parkhouse Award will result in a series of concerts in London and across the UK for the Lux Trio as well as career advice and support. The trio has previously won first prize at the Alice-Samter Stiftung Kammermusikwettbewerb in 2016, the Artsylvia foundation chamber music audition in South Korea in 2017 and the Gasteig Musikpreis, Munich in 2018.

Having reached the finals for the Parkhouse Award in 2017, the trio was encouraged to return in 2019 and impressed audiences with compelling performances of piano trios by Haydn and Smetana. The first Parkhouse Award performance by the trio will take place on 25 November 2019 at Southbank Centre’s Purcell Room.



From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products