Owen Mortimer

Trinity College London unveils Piano Syllabus 2021-23

2:06, 5th August 2020

Trinity College London has launched its Piano Syllabus 2021-2023, featuring more repertoire than ever before plus options for candidates to personlise their exam.

The expanded repertoire lists offer candidates 35 pieces per grade, including a tranche of new pieces from winners of the exam board’s Young Composer’s Competition. Candidates may also perform their own, original compositions. Further flexibility in terms of repertoire allows candidates to present one duet piece (grades Initial to 3) and their own choice of supporting texts.

Trinity hopes that the inclusion of nine new pieces by young composers (one per grade) will inspire candidates to try their own hand at composition. A free book comprising three of the new pieces is available to download so pianists can record and share their performances online using the hashtag #TrinityPlayItForward – click here for further details.

Grade books accompanying the new syllabus include a minimum of 12 pieces, with 21 pieces included in the Extended Edition – nine via an additional ebook. Both editions offer detailed performance notes. The Extended Edition also includes scales, arpeggios and downloadable audio.

A range of free online resources from Trinity further supports the development of candidates’ performance skills and knowledge.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products