Lucy Thraves

Assistant Editor

Young Songwriter 2018 winners announced

10:44, 16th May 2018

The winners of Song Academy’s Young Songwriter 2018 competition have been announced.

  • The winner of the 8-12 category is Zoe Efstathiou with ‘All She Has To Do’. Second place went to Mia Brown for ‘City’, while Skye Bishop’s ‘Soaring’ was awarded third.
  • First place in the 13-18 category is Isabella Weinstein for her song ‘Bad Boy’. Second place went to Katie Kittermaster’s ‘T-Shirt’, and third place went to Oscar Welsh’s ‘Way You Move’.
  • The winner of the International category is Kevin Jones with his song ‘Clara’.
  • The ‘Fanbase Award’ (supported by Casio Music) was awarded to Taylor Gayle for her song ‘Without Me’.

This year’s panel of judges included singer-songwriters Tom Odell and Imelda May and producer Guy Chambers. The competition attracted nearly 500 entries from cities across the world, including London, New York, Cairo and Melbourne.

Tom Odell said: ‘When I was 13 years old I started writing songs, and over the following years I became more and more obsessed with it. But the thing that always kept me awake at night was how to get them out there for people to hear. This is why I think the Song Academy Young Songwriter competition is a great way to inspire and help this process along, and it’s something I wish had been around when I was starting out.’

All the finalists will perform in the Young Songwriter 2018 Live Showcase on 10 June at Westfield, London. The Young Songwriter compilation album will be released the same month.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products