Rhinegold Photo credit: Musacchio & Ianniello

Melissa Bradshaw

Barbara Hannigan to be awarded the Léonie Sonning Music Prize 2020

11:28, 6th February 2019

Barbara Hannigan will be the eighth singer and sixteenth conductor to be awarded the prestigious Léonie Sonning Music Prize, which amounts to €100,000.

Previous laureates include Igor Stravinsky (1959), Leonard Bernstein (1965), Benjamin Britten (1968), Dmitri Shostakovich (1973), Miles Davis (1984), Pierre Boulez (1985), Daniel Barenboim (2009), Cecilia Bartoli (2010) and Sir Simon Rattle (2013).

The Léonie Sonning Music Prize 2020 will be presented at a concert on 23 April 2020 at the DR Concert House, which will see Barbara perform as soprano and conductor with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra and Fazil Say. The prize concert is the main event of a mini festival with Barbara Hannigan in focus.

In the meantime, composer Hans Abrahamsen will receive the 2019 prize. Abrahamsen will be presented with the award on 26 April 2019 at DR Concert House during a special concert featuring Barbara Hannigan as the soloist in Abrahamsen’s Let me tell you, which Hannigan has championed and performed internationally.


From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products