Katy Wright

Deputy Editor, Classical Music

International Opera Awards 2016 winners announced

9:40, 16th May 2016

The winners of this year’s International Opera Awards were announced in a ceremony held on 15 May at the Savoy Theatre, London.

Live performances on the night came from 2016 award winners Ermonela Jaho, Gregory Kunde and Ann Hallenberg; past winners Stuart Skelton and Anna Bonitatibus; and National Opera Studio young artists Kate Howden and William Morgan, all accompanied by Roger Vignoles.

The winners are:

Accessibility: The Opera Platform

CD complete opera: Les Martyrs (Opera Rara)

CD operatic recital: Ann Hallenberg: Agrippina (DHM)

Chorus: English National Opera

Conductor: Gianandrea Noseda

Designer: Vicki Mortimer

Director: Laurent Pelly

DVD: The Tsar’s Bride (Bel Air)

Female singer: Mariella Devia

Festival: Glyndebourne

Lifetime achievement: Brigitte Fassbaender

Male singer: Gregory Kunde

New production: Peter Grimes (Theater an der Wien)

Opera company: Dutch National Opera

Philanthropists: Bill & Judy Bollinger; Christine Collins  

Rediscovered work: Le Roi Carotte (Opéra de Lyon)

World premiere: Cold Mountain (Santa Fe Opera)

Young conductor: Giacomo Sagripanti

Young director: Fabio Ceresa

Young female singer: Asmik Grigorian

Young male singer: Stanislas de Barbeyrac

Readers’ award winner: Ermonela Jaho

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products