New Music

Watch our virtual celebration of Choir & Organ‘s New Music series, as we launch our 2022 partnership with VOCES8.

The online event includes live performances by VOCES8; an interview with young composer Shruthi Rajasekar and the premiere of her choral work, Who Has Seen the Wind?; and an introduction to the work of the VOCES8 Foundation from CEO Paul Smith and Artistic Director Barnaby Smith.

About New Music

New Music is a series of specially commissioned pieces for choir or organ written by some of the most talented young composers around. For 2021 we joined forces with the National Youth Choirs of Great Britain, and are delighted to announce that we will be working with VOCES8 as our New Music partners in 2022. Find out more in our December issue and watch our video announcing the partnership (above) broadcast on 19 December.

In Choir & Organ magazine, you’ll find a profile of the composer providing an insight into the new work. Here on the New Music web page you’ll find the score in PDF format ready to download and print.

Scores are licensed for six months’ free use – you can print as many copies as you want – before the copyright reverts to the composer. After that date, copies must be ordered from the composer.

New Music brings cutting-edge yet approachable scores direct to your desktop. We hope that you’ll be inspired to perform them as widely as possible. Why not download the latest score now?

Maggie Hamilton

Editor – Choir & Organ


Rupert Gough performs Matthew Shorten’s Nebulae for solo organ, commissioned by Choir & Organ as part of our New Music partnership with the VOCES8 Foundation. Download the score below.


C&O May (now available for free download until 31 October 2022)

Nebulae for solo organ - Matthew Shorten

Log in to download file

C&O March (now available for free download until 31 August 2022)

Scratch Theatre - Alex Ho

Log in to download file

C&O January/February (now available for free download until 30 June 2022)

Who Has Seen the Wind? - Shruthi Rajasekar

Log in to download file

C&O November (now available for free download until 30 April 2022)

Christmas Silence - Lillie Harris

Log in to download file