Rhinegold Finalist Abby Clarke

Rebecca Pizzey

Editorial assistant

Linbury Prize finalists announced

6:00, 25th October 2017

The finalists for the 2017 Linbury Prize have been announced. The award, which is for stage design, allows the chance for graduating designers to work with some of the leading theatre, opera and dance companies in the UK.

Each of the 12 finalists will have the opportunity to work with one of the participating companies, while four will win a commission to release their designs. One designer will be named the overall winner.

The finalists are: Laura Albeck, Emily Bates, Basia Binkowska, Eleanor Bull, Abby Clarke, Dylan Howells, Maxwell Nicholson-Lailey, Sonya Plenefisch, Khadija Raza, Fin Redshaw, Jessica Stanton and Jasmine Swan.

Khadija, Maxwell and Sonya will design a co-production between the Unicorn Theatre and ENO of Dido; Basia, Jessica and Dylan will design Othello / Macbeth for the Lyric Hammersmith; Jasmine, Laura and Eleanor will design Windrush: Movement of the People for the Phoenix Dance Theatre; and Emily, Fin and Abby will design Pieces of String for the Mercury Theatre in Colchester.

The 12 designs will be featured in an exhibition at the National Theatre from 1 November to 2 January 2018 in the Lyttelton Lounge.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products