Rhinegold Photo credit: © Sheila Burnett
Winners Fin Redshaw, Eleanor Bull and Basia Binkowska with Philip Lawford and Rufus Norris

Rebecca Pizzey

Editorial assistant

Linbury Prize winners announced

11:27, 20th December 2017

The winners of the Linbury Prize for Stage Design have been announced. At a ceremony held at the National Theatre on 1 November, it was revealed that Khadija Raza, Eleanor Bull and Fin Redshaw won prizes, with Basia Binkowska taking home the title of overall winner.

The prize offers graduating designers the opportunity to work with leading directors and major theatre companies to design a set. Tim Piper, Nicky Shaw and Rae Smith judged.

Raza’s prize was for her design of Dido, a coproduction with the Unicorn Theatre and ENO; Bull’s for Windrush: Movement of the People for Phoenix Dance Theatre; and Redshaw’s for Pieces of String with Mercury Theatre in Colchester. Binkowska’s prize will see her design Othello / Macbeth for the Lyric Hammersmith.

‘The Linbury Prize remains the most important theatre prize open to recent graduates of UK design schools,’ said Piper of the news. ‘We get over 90 applicants and it is a testament to the depth of talent in the students and the extraordinarily dedicated teaching abilities of colleges that the judges have had such a tough time selecting the final 12.’

The work of the 12 finalists can be seen in an exhibition at the National Theatre until 2 January 2018.

From Rhinegold Media & Events
Featured products